RSS

“Shug” by Jenny Han

07 Sep

FROM A KINNELON LIBRARY TEEN REVIEWER:

Annemarie Wilcox, or "Shug" as her family calls her, is beginning middle school. She feels all out of place, and the last word she would use to describe herself is pretty. However, her perfect sister Celia is gorgeous, and Annemarie would do anything to be her. All of the boys chase Celia and she’s got a great group of friends. Annemarie was happy with her life and her two best friends, Mark and Elaine, but not when she turns twelve. Suddenly everybody has to be boyfriend and girlfriend and life is a popularity contest. Annemarie secretly might like Mark, she’s jealous of all of the other girls with boyfriends, and Elaine is suddenly popular. The seventh grade dance is coming up, and, oh boy, no way is Shug going. Nope. Never.

"Shug" is an awesome read and definitely worthwhile. It’s like Meg Cabot says, "Shug shines!"

 
21 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2006 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

21 responses to ““Shug” by Jenny Han

  1. Anonymous

    April 14, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    wow

    wow i love the book anyone that is going into junior high should read this !!!!!!!!!!

     
    • mel1317

      April 30, 2007 at 3:26 pm

      Re: wow

      Thanks for your comment! I’ve already recommended that this book be included on the Pearl Miller summer reading list, so maybe lots more readers will soon have an extra incentive to read it. I’m so glad to hear you liked it, and thanks again for sharing your opinion.

       
    • Anonymous

      September 11, 2008 at 9:55 pm

      Re: wow

      So true this book is amazing!!

       
  2. Anonymous

    August 13, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    Cute!

    This book had a lot of twists and a really likeable character. Great for twelve year olds!

     
    • mel1317

      August 14, 2007 at 1:37 pm

      Re: Cute!

      I’m so glad you liked it. Just as an update, this book did get placed onto the Pearl Miller summer reading list for incoming 7th graders. I hope all those other readers enjoy it as much as you did. Thanks for letting us know your opinion!

       
  3. Anonymous

    September 2, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Wonderful

    I’ve read this book and it’s just great! The characters are all wonderful. I read this book in a short time because it was that fun! It’s a good book for people going to middle school, like me!

     
    • mel1317

      September 13, 2007 at 1:01 pm

      Re: Wonderful

      Another fan of “Shug” … I’m so glad you loved it! Here’s the link to author Jenny Han’s website, where you can find out more about this great new author. Click here. Thanks for writing!

       
  4. Anonymous

    October 3, 2007 at 2:24 am

    BEST BOOK EVER

    wow, usually i hate books, and right when i start reading them i just lose interest and stop reading them. Not for “Shug”!!!!!

    I just started reading it and couldn’t stop, I actually read the WHOLE BOOK IN ONE NIGHT!!!!!!!

    it grabbed me that much.
    Even though im in 8th grade and their in 6th, it’s easy to imagine yourself as the character.
    In a matter of fact, I going to sound like a loser when i say this, but i started crying at the end of this book.

    What Mark said about Annemarie made me so sad, I could actually feel the pain of this character, it was that great!

    I read the book last night, and now im re-reading it!
    Great Work!

    keep on making books like “Shug”

     
    • mel1317

      October 5, 2007 at 5:17 pm

      Re: BEST BOOK EVER

      Wow, that’s so great that you, someone who doesn’t really enjoy reading, not only loved “Shug” … you even took the time to post a comment about it! It seems like everyone can’t help but root for Annemarie as she tries to get through her first year of junior high. Since Annemarie’s situation is one lots of folks can relate to, her younger age isn’t as big of a deal. I hope you enjoy it just as much on the second reading. Thanks for posting!

       
      • Anonymous

        May 8, 2008 at 2:58 am

        Re: BEST BOOK EVER

        it’s so cool that this book can pull you into it. so many people liked this book, even though they don’t like to read! i mean, it’s great that they took time to post a comment. shug has been such a great book for everyone, and whoever hasn’t read it would love it! i think that this is a book for everyone, even people who hate reading!
        it’s so nice that people can really get themselves in the book…there’s nothing like this book before. it has it’s own style.

         
      • mel1317

        May 8, 2008 at 3:01 pm

        Re: BEST BOOK EVER

        You make such a great point here, that even people who don’t enjoy reading sometimes can find a book that just grabs them. I think it’s all about matching up the right book with the right person. I’ve been recommending “Shug” to lots of people, because I know it’s had such a great response among those who have read it. Great thanks for the comment!

         
  5. mel1317

    May 6, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Re: Cute!

    Thanks for your comment. Kinnelon folks will be happy to know that “Shug” remains on the 7th grade summer reading list. You might be lucky enough to read a fun, cute book and get credit for it, too. Yay!

     
  6. Anonymous

    May 8, 2008 at 2:56 am

    Shug

    Shug is the best book I have ever read! I started reading it, and I just couldn’t stop. There has never been a book that I’ve liked so much. Shug has definitely been a great book and I enjoyed reading it more than I’ve ever enjoyed any book before. I am so happy I checked out this book at my library! My friend said she loved it, and she recommended it to me. I loved the summary, so I decided to read the first page. I read the whole book in a day, because I just couldn’t stop reading.
    I LOVE SHUG!

     
    • mel1317

      May 8, 2008 at 3:03 pm

      Re: Shug

      Thanks for your post, and thanks also to your friend for recommending this book to you. I’m so glad you’ve taken the time to recommend it to others. Happy reading!

       
  7. mel1317

    May 23, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Re: AMAZING

    Yay! Thanks for letting us know!

     
  8. Anonymous

    August 5, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    The summer i turned pretty

    Is there anyway to read the summer i turned pretty like the first chapter anywhere?
    i just loved shug and i think if that book was good than this one must be too.

     
    • mel1317

      August 13, 2009 at 6:23 pm

      Re: The summer i turned pretty

      I couldn’t find it online (sometimes Amazon includes a “Look Inside” feature for some of their books, but not in this case). I guess you’ll have to stop by a bookstore — or your library! — and browse a copy there. I hope this book is one you’ll enjoy. Thanks for writing!

       
  9. Anonymous

    September 28, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Re: Cute!

    So did I the ending shoked me but i loved it ! 🙂

     
    • mel1317

      October 2, 2009 at 4:51 pm

      Re: Cute!

      Yup, I can see how you’d be surprised by the ending. I don’t want to give anything away and spoil it for folks who haven’t read “Shug” yet, so I’ll just leave it at that. Thanks for sharing your comment with us!

       
  10. Anonymous

    March 10, 2010 at 1:03 am

    shug of course!!!!!

    this is my fav!!!!

     
    • mel1317

      March 22, 2010 at 12:37 am

      Re: shug of course!!!!!

      Cool! Sometimes a short review is the best review of all!

       

Leave a Reply

 
